New to Digital? Tutorials Shop Contact Us
Gallery Forums New Posts New Products Chat Freebies Contests/Challenges Calendar Club Digital Newsletter Subscriptions/Feeds Scrap The Map Your Timezone?
The Store
Tutorials Articles DSU Classes Mentoring Beyond the Layout Product Reviews Links Glossary
About Us Team Digital Contact Us DSP Blog Media Retailer Info Designers Vendors Legal Licensing Graphics Store Locator Questions? Site Map
Old 03-21-2012, 11:38 PM   #1
Lauren
Team Alumni
 
Lauren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Posts: 42,407
Photos: 3,834  Users Photo Gallery
Photoshop cs6 public beta

http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/photoshopcs6.html

I will be discussing this tomorrow at 8 pm in the chat room
__________________

Lauren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 07:11 AM   #2
hlmbugle
Team Digital - Moderator
 
hlmbugle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hanover, PA, USA
Posts: 5,969
Photos: 760  Users Photo Gallery
Downloading it now, I know what's going to happen here. I'm going to fall in love with it and be forced to buy it when the time comes because I won't want to go back to PS Lite.

Also the video they ask you to watch, where one of the engineers gives his 6 favorite changes, shows some very cool stuff. It's on the Photoshop Youtube channel!!
__________________
http://www.digitalscrapbookplace.com/forum/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=179260&dateline=13847  35277
We Will FLOURISH!!!!!
hlmbugle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 08:22 AM   #3
ScrappyAddie
DET Alumni
Member Spotlight June '11
 
ScrappyAddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 18,243
Photos: 1,540  Users Photo Gallery
Oh! I'm gonna get me that! I'm thinking of upgrading when 6 comes out.
__________________
ScrappyAddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 11:00 AM   #4
happybeingamom
Yay I can choose my name!
 
happybeingamom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: In the Laundry Room
Posts: 12,456
Photos: 360  Users Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lauren View Post
http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/photoshopcs6.html

I will be discussing this tomorrow at 8 pm in the chat room

I thought your chat is at 9 pm
__________________
happybeingamom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 12:40 PM   #5
Lauren
Team Alumni
 
Lauren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Posts: 42,407
Photos: 3,834  Users Photo Gallery
Yes my gimme chat is,at 9 . I will be available to talk about cs6 at 8
__________________

Lauren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 12:46 PM   #6
happybeingamom
Yay I can choose my name!
 
happybeingamom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: In the Laundry Room
Posts: 12,456
Photos: 360  Users Photo Gallery
I doubt I could make it, though I want to.
__________________
happybeingamom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 02:02 PM   #7
elfdaughter
New to this place
 
elfdaughter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 25
Photos: 5  Users Photo Gallery
Oooh, droolworthy! Downloading it now, and will give it a good thrashing tonight.
__________________
The Spring has sprung, the Grass has riz...
I wonder where the birdies iz?
The bird is on the wing - but that's absurd!
How can the bird be on the wing... the wing is on the bird!!
elfdaughter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 02:11 PM   #8
happybeingamom
Yay I can choose my name!
 
happybeingamom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: In the Laundry Room
Posts: 12,456
Photos: 360  Users Photo Gallery
Love that mini bridge, great for scrapbooking.

However when I was doing 3D effects on my text (no idea what I was doing) my computer all of a sudden turned off
__________________
happybeingamom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 02:15 PM   #9
happybeingamom
Yay I can choose my name!
 
happybeingamom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: In the Laundry Room
Posts: 12,456
Photos: 360  Users Photo Gallery


This is the BEST!!!

I opened up CS6 after the crash. I had not saved my document and it automatically saved it.

That alone is worth buying this version, how many of us have lost our documents because the computer froze etc.
__________________
happybeingamom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 03:34 PM   #10
Lauren
Team Alumni
 
Lauren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Posts: 42,407
Photos: 3,834  Users Photo Gallery
Yes the autosave is wonderful !!
The improvements to ACR are also one of the major reasons to upgrade imho -
trouble is I want to go and reprocess all my photos !!
will post an example in a bit
__________________

Lauren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 03:34 PM   #11
Lauren
Team Alumni
 
Lauren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Posts: 42,407
Photos: 3,834  Users Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by happybeingamom View Post
Love that mini bridge, great for scrapbooking.

However when I was doing 3D effects on my text (no idea what I was doing) my computer all of a sudden turned off
Mini bridge was new in cs5 - its changed its location but not a lot else in cs6
__________________

Lauren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 03:43 PM   #12
Lauren
Team Alumni
 
Lauren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Posts: 42,407
Photos: 3,834  Users Photo Gallery
Heres a look at how much the ACR improvements can change a photo
__________________

Lauren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 03:46 PM   #13
hlmbugle
Team Digital - Moderator
 
hlmbugle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hanover, PA, USA
Posts: 5,969
Photos: 760  Users Photo Gallery
That is pretty incredible. I don't do ANYTHING with my photos now, I just slap them in there and hope for the best, but I have soooo many that I could probably make into great ones if I worked on it.
__________________
http://www.digitalscrapbookplace.com/forum/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=179260&dateline=13847  35277
We Will FLOURISH!!!!!
hlmbugle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 01:40 PM   #14
ScrappyAddie
DET Alumni
Member Spotlight June '11
 
ScrappyAddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 18,243
Photos: 1,540  Users Photo Gallery
Is there a way to install my Topaz plug-ins into the beta? I've looked in both the Topaz FAQs and the CS6 FAQs. I've redownloaded and reinstalled the Topaz' too...
__________________
ScrappyAddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 01:54 PM   #15
hlmbugle
Team Digital - Moderator
 
hlmbugle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hanover, PA, USA
Posts: 5,969
Photos: 760  Users Photo Gallery
I'm having some issues in CS6 that I don't know my way around. Can we ask general questions in this thread in hopes that somebody else has worked out the same issues? Coming from PSE9, it could just be the difference between the two programs, or my lack of knowledge, but there are things that I'm trying to do that just won't work.

For starters, I'm trying to do the Gimme a Copy #8 for this week from scratch on CS6 so I can figure out a few tricks. I wanted to cut a shape out of a layer so that the background shows through in that shape. In PSE I'd have the cookie cutter tool for that, but CS6 has no cookie cutter. When I draw a shape with the shape tool, I would think I could just select inverse, go to the correct layer, Cut pixels and then delete the original shape layer, but it won't allow me to do that.

First thing it does is, it won't allow me to select just the shape until I rasterize the layer. I don't even know what the heck rasterize means, so I guess I'm off to dictionary.com for that one. Anyway, once I rasterize, I can use the magic wand to select the shape, and then Select>>Inverse is made available.

Once I select inverse, I click on the layer I want to cut, and I go to Edit>>Cut, but cut is GRAYED OUT. What am I missing there? Any help would certainly be appreciated. And if there is an easier way to cut out a shape from a full sheet of background paper, leaving the background, please let me know. Thanks everybody.

****OK, I found a way to do it, I just had to rasterize ANOTHER layer to get Cut to un-gray. If there is a shortcut to this, I'd appreciate if anyone could tell me.

I do have another question--I looked up rasterize and found what it means. Is there a way to rasterize layers by default? Is it even possible to UN-rasterize them?
__________________
http://www.digitalscrapbookplace.com/forum/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=179260&dateline=13847  35277
We Will FLOURISH!!!!!
hlmbugle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Smile!
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM. (Change your account settings?)
The current DSP Time (Eastern) is: Find the local time of an event?


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2004-2012 Digital Scrapbook Place, Inc. All rights reserved. Terms of Use · Legal/Privacy Notices · Retailers · Media · Contact
 
Facebook digital scrapbooking . . Flickr digital scrapbooking . . YouTube digital scrapbooking . . Pinterest digital scrapbooking . . Twitter digital scrapbooking